Creature Comforts

Yes I am talking about keeping those little, and big, pest comfortable but away from your crops.

Little ones first!

I have been successful so far keeping small pest away from my crops. By mixing unlike crops together.

Basil mixed in with my tomatoes have helped this year in keeping away the horned catapiller.

And adding marigolds have helped in keeping away aphids as well.

So saying that mixing your crops is a good thing. However, the home remedies I like most is the chilli peppers one. Hot red chilli peppers, mixed with water, vinegar, and dish soap. Sprayed on my crop works just as well.

Bigger pest

Birds, squirrel, and the lot.

Birds are easy. Some bird netting put over the crop, tube/PVC hut green house idea works well.

But with squirrels Just make sure you leave a gathered amount, like 4 inches worth, at any gap area. Along any bottom, tops, or where they join. The gathered material gets their little paws tangled up a bit. And they don’t like getting tangled up in anything. And will avoid that easy access nosing under, around the edges.

Talking off shelf chemicals.

There is a hord of brands, types, and uses of these. I’m more the type of, if it is going in “My” tummy I better be really sure this is the only way I can take care of my problem creature!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.